News Flash

City News

Posted on: December 22, 2020

2020 Volunteer of the Year Awards

picture of the volunteer of the year 2020 award

At Monday night's City Council meeting on December 21, 2020, Mayor Sandy Cox announced the Volunteer of the Year awards. There are more volunteers throughout Lakeway than there are city staff. Many assist on city committees, boards and commissions, but others dedicate their time to assisting with other duties at City Hall, the police department and help during city events. Typically, many of our volunteers are honored at a special event near the end of the year. However, because of the pandemic this year, that was not possible. 

The winners this year worked hard on several committees including the Zoning and Planning Commission, Economic Development Committee and the Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee, spending countless hours helping host public town halls, working with councilmembers and finalizing the 2020 Comprehensive Plan. Mayor Cox delivered special trophies safely in-person to our three winners this year. 


Larry Harlan


Carolyn Nichols


Ron Massa

In 2019, Janet Wright received the Volunteer of the Year award for her hard work with the Lakeway Arts Committee, and Bill Hawkins received the Unsung Hero award for his dedicated work with the Heritage Committee. 

Thank you to all of our city volunteers!

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in City News