The Communications Division are the "first" first-responders who are responsible for answering 911 calls and non-emergency calls from the public. This is the central "hub" through which information flows in and out to emergency personnel and citizens. The professionalism and exceptional performance of our communications staff contributes directly to keeping our community safe.

The Communications Division is comprised of one manager, two supervisors and eight telecommunicators. The center operates 24/7, so they are divided into two 12-hour shifts, rotating every 4 months. 

Types of Service

The Communications team is accountable for:
  • Answering emergency 911 calls
  • Taking non-emergency calls on the department administrative telephone lines
  • Operating the CAD (computer aided dispatch) system
  • Working with the RMS (records management system)
  • Monitoring the agency’s security camera system
  • Monitoring the silent alarm system for Municipal Court security
  • Helping walk-in traffic at the police department lobby
  • Handling radio dispatch for all on-duty Lakeway, Bee Cave and Lake Travis ISD Police units


The Lakeway Police Department first employed communication operators in June of 1978.

In 2006, the City of Lakeway executed an inter-local agreement with the City of Bee Cave to provide communications support to its Police Department.

In 2021, the City of Lakeway executed an inter-local agreement with Lake Travis ISD to provide communications support to its Police Department as well.


For up to date statistics on our calls for service and administrative calls please click here.


During 2011, the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) changed the rules relating to Telecommunicators to include more stringent selection standards, an increased employment standard and mandatory basic and in-service training for licensing. In response to the TCOLE rule changes, the Lakeway communications team completed a new employee training manual, a set of updated standard operating procedures and a new employee performance assessment guide.

Bryan Hilton - Telecommunicator
Bryan Hilton
Master Telecommunicator

Deborah Brown - Telecommunicator
Deborah Brown
Advanced Telecommunicator

Kate Powell - Telecommunicator
Kate Powell
Basic Telecommunicator

ParkerAndrew Parker
Basic Telecommunicator

Misty Jensen
Misty Jensen
Master Telecommunicator

Gemma Biasetto
Gemma Biasetto

Gemma Biasetto
Emily Meyer